Bokeh Photography

Standard

I’m in love with this photography technique! How can you not be? I just discovered what it was today.  According to the description of these photographs posted by BigBeanPhotos on etsy, this technique is called “bokeh.” From wikipedia, “bokeh is the blur, or the aesthetic quality of the blur in out-of-focus areas of an image.”

This photographer was featured on the front page of etsy this morning. BigBeanPhotos is out of Redmond, WA. (according to the shop profile) Check out those bright colors, and the capture of light reflecting on the water. I love that the focus is on the droplets and the little puddle of water as opposed to the night lights in the background. If I were going to take a photograph, I would have definitely focused on the lights. Choosing to focus on what’s close and leaving the majority of the picture out of focus, not just out of focus, but blurred with the bokeh technique adds a dreamy and etheral quality to these photographs that I don’t think would have been present if captured differently. Here are a couple more examples I found after knowing the correct name for the technique!

This technique is fabulous. Seriously. It makes the most mundane objects like traffic lights, signs, notebooks, and weeds look other worldy and beautiful. If only I had some small amount of photography skills, I might attempt to figure out how to create these photos myself. But since that is not the case, it just gives me more time to admire the work of others.

Leave a Reply

