Cubicle Makeover

Standard

As an engineer, I spend a lot of time at a computer. In an office. In a cubicle. Made of blue fabric panels that are incredibly boring to look at all day. I’ve decided that the only way to make this situation more bearable is to revamp my cube! I’ve had a couple ideas, but I think this definitely something I’m going to have to ease in to so as not to upset the big bosses.

I’ve thought about putting down a small rug, to make it a little more homey. Maybe a 36″ round rug, or 2’x3′ rug. Just something to cut through all of the blue! Lamps also seem to be a very popular idea, but I’m not sure how that would work out. I kind of need a lot of desk space with all of my plans and drawings all over the place. I would hate to be worried about knocking a lamp over all the time. I’ve wanted to hang things from the ceiling, but I don’t think I have the courage. One of the things I’m most interested in doing is covering the panels in fabric.

I’ve started changing things little by little. I don’t want to do anything too drastic, but I’ve made some changes. I hung up a pennant banner from one of my overhead compartments made of a bunch of fabric scraps. It’s similar to this one on etsy, but much less finished and polished. (Have you noticed that’s a theme from all of my projects?) It’s also much more brightly colored.

The other newest addition to my cubicle is a fabric covered bulletin board I made all by myself! I had a leftover piece of foamcore from a craft project I attempted a couple of weeks ago (and failed miserably). I cut it into the shape I wanted, covered it in a left over piece of batting from one of my quilting projects, and then covered it again with a piece of fabric. I just used a staple gun to staple it all together. I’m pretty sure that the staples would pull right out if someone were to yank of them, but for what is is, it works great. After that, I tied some elastic cording around it to hold papers on when I lacked thumbtacks.

It’s not much, but you would be surprised the affect that block of color makes on my demeanor on a daily basis. (see that awful blue?!?) All in all, I’m pretty happy with it. I’ve added some post-it notes with happy quotes on it, and I could continue to make it look better with many more cards, postcards, thumbtacks, and all kinds of things!

Like I said, I’m trying to subtly ease in to the major cubicle changes, so hopefully, I’ll have some more updates on the cubicle soon. Everyone should go decorate their cube and make it a happy and inviting space. Think how much time you spend within those same four “walls” every week. It needs to speak to you! Not only does it make you feel better, but it makes you more productive, too! At least that’s my argument, and I’m sticking with it!

One response »

Leave a Reply

