art discovery: Alice Potter

Standard

Always on the search for a new artist to love, I stumbled across Alice Potter! I instantly fell in love with her images. They are so simplistic and immediately recognizable as animals we all know and love. I’ve always been fascinated by the way an artist can use color in a way that I would never think to use it. When you think of a polar bear, what’s the first color that comes to mind? White, right? I’ve always found it difficult to draw things that are white, but Alice Potter eliminated that problem by using different shades of blue and hues of gray to color her polar bear. She even went so far as to give him cute little pink rosy cheeks! Check out her polar bear, and other art below.

look at the feathers!

I love it! Check out her etsy shop here. She has other art besides animals, but what can I say, I’m partial to the animals. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

