artist discovery: Jen Stark

Standard

Okay so. If you’re anything like me, you love bright colors and anything that comes in a wide spectrum. For example, stacks of rainbow colored card stock. Entering in to a craft store, I find these packs of paper virtually irresistible. It is so difficult for me to walk past a pack of paper either rainbow colored or assorted by similar hues. What am I ever going to do with all of that paper when I don’t scrapbook? Well, I could attempt an undertaking like artist Jen Stark. Jen Stark is a paper artist who “frequently challenges the constrictions of paper by creating three-dimensional sculptures using simple tools,” (via lumeneclipse.com). I find her work mesmerizing. She transforms two dimensional sheets of paper in to three dimensional sculptures that bring a smile to my face. Check out some of her work below.

sunken sediment

pedestal

centrifugal

plasmascopic

over and out

radial reverie

coriolis effect

burst

I love the bright colors and the shapes she creates. Can you imagine how difficult it would be to cut layer after layer after layer of paper away to leave a resulting sculpture? She must possess extreme patience. That is a virtue that God did not see fit to bestow upon me, so I can’t even imagine what it would take. Regardless of the amount of skill behind these pieces of art, the resulting product is undoubtedly awe inspiring.

One response »

  1. I love these, too. The color play is intriguing. And the question of how she puts it all together. I would like to see these in person one day.

Leave a Reply

