hex nuts

Standard

As I know I’ve mentioned before, I’m quite a fan of repurposing everyday normal objects into beautiful pieces of art. The perfect example of this is the use of hex nuts, a standard piece of hardware, as a base for interesting and eye catching jewelry. We’ve all seen the hex nuts bracelets that have been very popular recently. And if you haven’t, here is an example.

If you’re interested in learning how to make that, here is a tutorial.

While searching for these neat bracelets on etsy, I found an awesome shop called FromADot. The shop owner is Katy Gilmore and her shop profile speaks directly to me. She says, “everything has potential.” And I completely agree. It’s not necessarily my personal philosophy, but it’s a stance on the world, that I love and appreciate. She even goes so far as to say her work stems from “an openness to unconventional possibilities of materials.” That’s what I’m talking about! Check out her work below.

Those earrings have got to be heavy! I think the two finger ring is my favorite. I’m loving the focus on hex nuts, and I’m loving using the ordinary to create the unordinary. What do you guys think? Be sure to keep a look out for more creative uses of everyday items to make pretty things!

Leave a Reply

