pumpkins

Standard

So yesterday I did a post about different pumpkin techniques, and told you I was going to try one out and let you know how it turned out. Today I went to the store and checked out the pumpkin selection. I ended up getting three pumpkins. Two medium sized ones, one orange and one white, and a small orange one.

I tried the stenciling doily technique on the small orange one, and it was disastrous. I was going to use this rich garnet red color, because I thought it would look nice and fall like with the orange pumpkin. So I did everything according to the tutorial, but I absolutely did not get the same results that was shown on Better Homes and Gardens. I had trouble getting the doily to stick to the pumpkin, and getting it to lay flat on the pumpkin. And then when I stenciled in all of the paint, the design was really inconsistent. The paint didn’t go through all the nooks and crannies that it should’ve. Basically it just didn’t look right at all. I was not happy with the results at all. But with the perks of acrylic paint, I wiped it off and tried again. Same results. So I just wiped it all off and gave up.

So after that terrible attempt, I was wary to try again with my paisley pumpkin idea. But I decided to be brave and give it a shot. I gathered all of my materials:

pumpkin and puff paint

And then I got cracking. I’m so glad I decided to buy a white pumpkin. It’s not pure white, obviously, but I like it so much better than if I had spray painted an orange one. This is a picture of the process I used.

I free-handed dots in paisley shapes. This was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be. Everyone is pretty familiar with the shape of paisley. And because I did it in dots, and because the dots were a pearl-like color, mistakes were easily fixed. There was a lot of wiping and re-dotting. Eventually I decided to just go with it. So I covered my whole pumpkin in random paisley shapes with pearl colored dots.

Then came the difficult part. I took the silver puff paint and embellished the original paisley shapes. I kind of wish I had done the silver first, because I felt that once the silver was inside of the pearl, you couldn’t see the pearl and tell where the paisley shape ended. I remedied this by placing a silver dot between the pearl dots on some of the shapes, and outlining some of the dots with silver where space allowed. So once I had fully delineated all of the paisley shapes, I went back and filled them in with different designs. Different things I had seen in paisley designs in the past. Here is the end result of my puff paint paisley pumpkin!

And another part of it

So there you have it! I was so excited that I took pictures while it was still wet. I don’t know how different it will look once it dries, but I’ll let you know. It looks a little shaky, but it’s difficult to draw consistent lines with a bottle of puff paint on a ridged pumpkin. I did the best I could, and when you’re not staring it right up close, it looks pretty neat! I think I like it! I’ll definitely have to have some more practice in years to come, but all in all, I’m pretty happy with my first attempt. What do y’all think? Is this a technique you’ll try? If you do, I’d love to see your results! Maybe if I get enough pumpkins sent in, I’ll do a post of reader submitted pumpkins? So e-mail away! allrainydaysarentgray@gmail.com I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

