Yong Ho Ji

Standard

Well since my last artist discovery post went so well, I thought I’d give it another shot! Today I’ve discovered Yong Ho Ji. Yong Ho Ji creates beautiful sculptures out of an interesting medium. Old tires! The pile up of tires in landfills has been a growing problem in recent years, and while there are many new innovative products that make use of these old tires, none of them are quite as aesthetically pleasing as these sculptures. At first glance Yong Ho Ji’s structures appear to be normal animals, but upon closer inspection the viewer realizes that certain parts just don’t fit with the animal originally seen. They don’t look quite right. It is these transformations that mark his sculptures as mutations. I think it’s significant to note the selected medium to create these mutated animals. It’s almost like the artist is nodding to the fact that we, as a society, took a naturally occurring substance (rubber) and have manipulated (or mutated) it to the point where it is now causing us harm. Also interesting to note is the aggressive posture of the majority of the subjects pictured. Is this another hint to the problem of waste? Or maybe the artist enjoys combining different animals together to make them look very angry. Maybe there isn’t any deeper meaning to it at all. That’s the beauty of art. It’s open to interpretation. Anyway. I stumbled across these sculptures on the website Unfinished Man. So this post might inadvertently be a bit more masculine than some of my previous posts. Anyway, check these out.

I don’t know about y’all, but I’m pretty much stunned by these sculptures. When I think of a tire, I don’t exactly think of it as an easily moldable and malleable medium. Tires don’t necessarily inspire my creativity, but this artist’s creative use of tires and especially the textures of the treads will definitely make me think twice before prematurely dismissing a potential medium. The artist makes use of the many different types of tires in the many different parts of his mutated sculptures. Not only does the artist deftly use the treads of smaller tires (such as a bike tire) to show the details within the sculptures, he uses their rubbery form to show the sinew and muscles of the animal. Yong Ho Ji uses the treads of larger tires (like those found on cars or trucks) to more accurately define the realistic size and texture of these muscle structures. On some of these sculptures, it’s almost like viewing the animals without their hides. I’m completely impressed.

Next we need to see someone get creative with those grocery store plastic bags!

And on a side note — for all of you new readers, keep in mind that you can always get in touch with me via the email associated with my blog, allrainydaysarentgray@gmail.com.

13 responses »

  1. Wow, this is another artist you have come across that is truly amazing. The details and beauty, it’s remarkable. The tyres even give the sculptures so much texture, and when you look at it, it almost looks a bit like the muscular structure of some of the animals (like the lion and shark). The use of such a material, due to its toughness, it really brings out the strength of the animals.

  2. These are amazing. My mother was a sculptor, I wish she could have seen these! 🙂

    I’ve just subscribed to your blog, by the way.

Leave a Reply

