11.11.11

Standard

Happy Veteran’s Day to everyone out there. I just want to take a moment and give a big thanks to everyone who has served or is serving our country. Your sacrifices have made our country what it is today. This goes not just for enlisted members of the armed forces, but also for all of those who work hard daily to support and care for our service men and women.

I had the day off from work today, so I got busy crafting and decided to make a wreath! I was originally going to make a yarn wreath with pretty felt flowers kind of like this one:
But for whatever reason, I couldn’t find any felt colors that were working for me, so I decided to try out something I had seen on the internet during my previous searching. A yarn ball wreath. The idea was to create something that looked similar to this:
I didn’t prepare a tutorial or anything, because I thought it would be super easy. It wasn’t. I got so frustrated trying to make this thing, it’s almost embarrassing. Once I finally figured out how to wrap the styrofoam balls with yarn, that part of the process went really quickly. Then came the difficult part of actually making the wreath. I ended up having to buy a styrofoam wreath form with a flat back, covering it in yarn, and hot gluing the balls on to the form. And here is my final result:
It doesn’t look anything like my original source, but it was fun nonetheless, and I think it turned out pretty good. I like that it’s not symmetrical and kind of funky, but still Chirstmas-y. I was actually thinking about giving away this wreath as my giveaway! But like I mentioned earlier, it’s all pretty tentative.

Also on my busy day, I created a facebook page for my blog! I’m hoping that you guys will go over there and “like” my page so maybe more people can find out about me! I hope everyone has a safe and fun weekend. I’ve got some fun stuff lined up for next week!

4 responses »

  1. I hate when that happens. You get all excited about doing art or craft, thinking it’s going to be easy, and you have such great ideas! Then instead it’s frustrating. Grrr.

    Glad it worked out in spite of that.

Leave a Reply

