Dream Big

Standard

Today I’m going to share with y’all this awesome mosiac I recently stumbled across. It’s called Dream Big by Peter Fecteau. Peter Fecteau is a designer with a degree in digital media design. His mosiac is a nineteen by eight and a half foot piece made entirely of Rubik’s cubes. I don’t know about you guys, but I had a Rubik’s cube once, and I was eternally frustrated trying to solve that joker. But Pete sets actually trying to solve the cube aside, and just configures them to show his desired color pattern before putting them all together to create his masterpiece.

As you can see, some of the cubes have solid colored faces (which is actually how they come in the package) but the rest of them, he has had to configure to get them to show the eventual color gradation he is trying to achieve. His mosaic depicts Martin Luther King Jr. I’m guessing the name is partially derived from this fact.

Anyway, here is the finished product.

Can you imagine the time it took to put this thing together?! It actually took over 40 hours, and consists of 4,242 Rubik’s Cubes.

Here is Pete working on a piece of the mosaic. I love how in the section on his desk you can see the few pieces of orange. I think that shows the large scale of this thing he has created. I’ve always been amazed by artists who can see such a big image, and know step by step what they need to do on a smaller scale to make the large end result be effective. Pete and his Rubik’s Cube mosaic is a perfect example of this. He is able to see that in order for MLK Jr. to have the proper shading on his face, that he needs to make those ten random squares a different color from the rest. Mind boggling.

What a creative idea. Good job, Pete! Too cool.

Also, I couldn’t help but notice the lack of people liking my facebook page, or requesting to be included in my giveaway! Come on people! My wreath wasn’t that hideous! You know you want to be included! Don’t forget! You have until next Wednesday!

5 responses »

  1. That is *amazing*!! Only 40 hours?? Just one week?? That’s even more amazing! I have a perpetually 1/3 solved rubix cube on my desk… This kind of artwork would take me months, if not years!

  2. Wow…..awesome creation. I am so thrilled to see this kind of manifestation of art. Brilliant. Thanks for sharing this. I am an artist and I understand how much of dedicated effort and attention to detail is required to create such a thing.

Leave a Reply

