pin and string

Standard

I’m pretty sure that many moons ago, I did a post about the art that can be created with pin and string. You can see it here. Now while I was featuring all different kinds of art from many different artists, little did I know that this artist was out there. Debbie Smyth. I’m so impressed by the art that she creates. I think it’s a unique medium, and I love that she has made it her own. After placing the pins very precisely, she stretches string between them, around them, above them, every which way to create the look she is trying to achieve. She leaves some of the strings lose to imply movement (from illusion).

Not to mention her installations are pretty big. This one stretches 9 meters. That’s over 27 feet.

Debbie at work

Wow. I love that bridge. I love that from far away it looks neat and tidy and up close you can see all the extraneous strings. I also love how all of those extra strings end up being the shadows among the trusses in the bridge. It’s great. I wish I knew how many miles of thread went in to making one of these pieces. Do you think it’s all one continuous piece? Or she uses small sections? How does she know where to place the nails? So many questions!! Sometimes I have to tell myself “don’t question it, just enjoy it!” I hope you enjoy it, too!

Earlier today, I posted a pretty picture by Oona Ratcliffe on my facebook page. I really like it, and I hope that you all like it, too. I decided that I would periodically post pictures of things on my facebook page, that weren’t worthy of an entire blog post. Not saying that Oona Ratcliffe isn’t worthy of an entire blog post, I just couldn’t wait to type it up and share it with everyone, so I went ahead and posted it! So be sure you “like” my facebook page here so that you won’t miss out on anything! And if you like it between now and next Wednesday, you’ll be entered for a chance to win a handmade Christmas wreath made by yours truly!

I also wanted to say that today is my 99th post, and I’ve got something special prepared for tomorrow and my 100th post! So stayed tuned! It’s storming like crazy at my house. Y’all stay dry!

7 responses »

  1. Impressive! Kind of a theme you have emerging here, with this, the rubix cube thing, and the glitter art — large scale, extremely time consuming art. 🙂

    I do like that Oona Ratcliffe. It makes me wonder how I might paint something like that… I have difficulty trying things like that. I find myself trying to organize it more. Ok let me ask you this: is that painting an abstraction of something that I’m just not seeing? Do you see any rhyme or reason to it? Don’t get me wrong — I do like it, it works, but I don’t get it. I’ll boldly admit that it looks like random lines and splashes of color to me. So I can’t see “how” it was done. I think that’s why I can’t pull it off when I try stuff like this… because I don’t feel like I know what I’m trying to do… Do you see any method in that painting that I’m missing?

    • First of all, let me just say that you are the best blog commenter ever (sorry mom). Secondly, as far as the painting goes, I don’t see a rhyme or reason to it either. I don’t think there’s something deeper that we’re not seeing. However, I also don’t think it’s random. I think the boundaries are too consistent to make it a random assortment of colors. I think it’s just an expression of colors and movement meant to come together as a piece of art that is aesthetically pleasing. Which, in my opinion, the artist was supremely successful in accomplishing. On a final note, I understand exactly what you’re talking about regarding not being able to put together something like that. If I’m going to sit down and paint something, I need to see the result in my mind so I know the steps to achieve to get there. I think that’s why it’s easier for me to draw or paint objects that are existing in real life, so that I can see where to go next. The only method that might help is time. Patience. I think that if you’re going to sit down and create something like that, you’re going to need to be able to put a lot of time in to it. Layering colors, fixing outlines, adjusting shapes and shadows. I think that as effortless as the painting may appear, a lot of time went in to its creation. Or she could’ve painted it in ten minutes. I honestly have no idea, and I’m just trying to give you an opinion or a point of view you may find helpful in the future. Please keep reading and commenting, I love to hear your opinions and what you’ve got to say! Thanks!

      • Well thank you! (sorry carrsk’s mom)

        Yeah you’re right, it’s not random. The more I thought about it the more I thought she was painting some kind of fluid flow, like a splash, or clouds of some kind. So yeah — colors and movement. I just did a google image search on her name and found lots more of clearly the same style to check out! And it’s nice to know that, no it’s *not obviously* an alligator or something and I’m just too dumb to see it. 🙂 It also occurred to me later that I might have better luck with something like that if I sketched the whole thing out first — determining the form before figuring out the colors, instead of trying to do both at the same time as I go. I may just tackle that. I just put it on my to-do list anyway. Now I have more ideas for paintings than time to paint them, which is a nice problem to have I guess.

        Back to the Oona Ratcliffe — I can see it took effort and time! But the final result does have a carefree and relaxed look to it. Yeah, she’s good.

        You keep posting and I’ll keep commenting! You post really good stuff and you’re a great sounding board too! I need that. 🙂 Keep doing what you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

