what i’m doing

Standard

So over the weekend, well actually just Sunday, I got quite bored. Surprise surprise. I decided that in order to assuage my boredom, I would visit pinterest, and then my local craft store. Incredibly inspired, I spent a hefty sum on what I would need to complete a couple of Christmas themed DIYs. I thought I’d share them with you all just to keep up to date on what I’m working on. I’m not going to offer tutorials on anything, because I was following other people’s tutorials. However, I’ve included the links to take you to the tutorials I was working from.

The first thing I put together was super easy, and I’m very happy with the results. At the craft store I bought three different sized mason jars, some cute little ornaments, and some glittery sequiny filler things. And voila!

they look much better in person...

The second thing I started working on was this super easy, fun, and pretty felt ruffle wreath. 

I saw the tutorial on pinterest, which lead me here. It is so easy. You literally cut felt circles, fold them in half twice, stick a pin through them, and pin them on your wreath. Click on the link for the full tutorial. My favorite part about it was that I could unpin any “rosettes” that I had already put in place. If I thought an area was too congested, I could easily remove a couple rosettes, fluff what I had, and move on. I decided to make a red / garnet one. I haven’t decided yet if it’s going to be a Christmas wreath, or a gamecock wreath.

what do you think?!

Lastly, I got the materials to make these cute little trees.

Again, I found the idea on pinterest, but was ultimately lead to another blog. I haven’t started this one yet, but I’m looking forward to getting underway. I bought three different sized styrofoam cones, and a couple sheets of scrapbook paper. I went with a Christmas colored theme mostly because I was overwhelmed with the selection of colored papers and decided to keep it simple. I even got some glitter paper that I thought would be fun to randomly put throughout almost like ornaments. I definitely don’t have the specific petal cutter discussed in the tutorial, but I figured I could just wing it. I’m not a fan of anything being too precise when it comes to the realm of crafts. Well, actually, I’m not a fan of putting the work in to making my crafts precise. But that’s neither here nor there.

This craft extravaganza definitely helped me get over my Sunday afternoon boredom. Maybe seeing what I’m up to will inspire some of you guys to get crafty and help alleviate any boredom plaguing you. I’d love to know what kind of projects you guys are all working on right now! Maybe if some of you e-mail me some pictures, I can put together a post about the creativity of all of you! Don’t be shy! allrainydaysarentgray@gmail.com Do it!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

