carne griffiths

Standard

I’ve really been on an artist kick here lately, but it seems to be quite popular, so if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! Today we’re taking a look at Carne Griffiths, who is another artist that uses an interesting technique. According to his website, Carne begins his works with primarily calligraphy ink and pencils, and takes them on a progressive journey with liquids. His liquids of choice are tea, brandy, vodka, and whiskey. After initially drawing an image or a figure on the page, he manipulates what he has created with these liquids, and the resulting image is quite pleasing.

Even though we all know how much I love bright and bold colors, I’m really digging the muted hues within all of these paintings. I love the ethereal quality that the liquids have added, blurring the harsh and definitive lines originally created with pencils and pens. Carne’s bio talks about how his paintings offer a sense of escapism, and I can totally see that, and escape within them.

4 responses »

  1. I love how the colours are bright, but dulled by the liquids. What a brave artist! Taking a chance on potentially ruining the whole thing, especially with those splatters of ink. How commendable, how serene. I love this πŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing~

  2. And hey — if he gets thirsty while painting, problem solved! How many times have I been tempted to drink the water I clean my brushes in, especially when it’s a delicious shade of blue or looks like pink lemonade… Ok sheesh I’ll tell you!! So many times that now I always bring a glass of water down to the basement with me when I paint.

    Seriously though, that is impressive art. And I’ll ditto oletron’s comment about bravery! Not sure he could really ‘paint out’ any mistakes too easily…

Leave a Reply

