story behind

Standard

Hello bloggy friends! I’m sorry for my extended absence as of late, but we’re in the process of trying to make some changes in our house– painting and all that fun stuff. Our house is in disarray and I don’t even know if I could find my laptop right now if I tried. I usually have a bunch of posts ready to go so these things don’t happen (I even blogged throughout my entire vacation to Colorado), but I guess I’ve been a little slack in that department lately. But as I was checking my blog stuff from my phone, I came across this post I made quite some time ago and decided to go ahead and publish it (even though I intended to do more with it) just to give you all something to assuage your creative hunger. Enjoy!

Let’s take a journey today. We’re going to use our imaginations to try to think of the back story behind each of these items. Where they’ve been, what they’ve seen, who’ve they met, and how they got to where they are today. I want to use my imagination to see if I can make these non-talking walls talk. Basically this is just going to be a collection of things that look like they have lived a long and happy life.

going nowhere fast

Sometimes it is important to stop and take a look at our surroundings and see that many times the beautiful things in life aren’t necessarily our new and shiny toys, but the weathered and worn items that surrounds us daily and are easily overlooked. Though it’s easy to sometimes overlook these things, in my opinion, they are the things that add the depth and breadth to our lives. I’m charging you all with a mission today. Go out and view your surroundings. See the beauty in everything from the rusty hinges on your garden gate to the worn leather of your car seats. I would love to see / hear about some of the beauties y’all stumble across.

3 responses »

  1. Well I have this really old, worn out pair of leather shoes in the garage. I only wear them in the garage and on short trips to the driveway, etc. They’re falling apart — I mean *really* falling apart, but I love them because they’re slip-ons and very convenient to have there for such situations. So, I have re-attached the split, crumbling soles twice now using a drill and cable ties. The last time I did this I thought, “I need a new pair of shoes.” then realized, “no, I need another pair of *old* shoes.” Anyway, I’ll keep patching and slapping these back together for a while yet, I’m sure. 🙂

    • Oh, there’s also the very old pair of leather winter gloves I have… I really do love these. They’re at least 20 years old… They’re well broken in and fit *really* well now. Like “gloves” lol. So over the years I’ve keep sewing them back together, with trusty waxed upholstery thread…

Leave a Reply

