12.28.11

Standard

Well. The holidays are over, and we survived! But now comes the time of year when we all start to feel a little down. Christmas is over, the year is almost over, and what do we have to look forward to? I know, I know the start of a new year and all of that jazz. But to me, sometimes that can be just as depressing. Another year has passed us by and what do I have to show for it? So today I’m going to share with all of you a roundup of things that make me happy. Things that 2011 has brought to me, and things 2012 will (hopefully) have in store for me.

First things first, 2011 has brought me the chance to blog! It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, and I finally got the nerve to start! I think that for only doing it for a short time, I’ve had some relative success! I was freshly pressed, after all. And I think I’ve been able to successfully reach out to a couple people and feel like I might be making a bit of a difference! That’s all anyone can ask for!

Pinterest. I can’t even begin to explain to you all of the amazing things that the world of pinterest has brought me. Everyday I click over to that website, I find something else inspiring, or delicious, or a brilliant idea I hadn’t ever thought of before. It’s amazing.

The chance to adopt a one eyed little girl kitty. I was able to bring her in to my house and give her a loving home. Maybe there was already one fat cat who is a little grumpy, and one very hyperactive dog, but I think she’s happy here. She’s definitely loved.

I’m thinking that 2012 is going to be a big year for me. I’m finally getting into a routine and doing much better with keeping up with things and being an adult. I’ve actually gotten to the point where I do my laundry almost on a regular basis!

I’m also going to be taking the PE (professional engineer) exam in October. I’m going to be doing a lot of studying, but I hope that the end result will be worth it. This is a big deal for me, because all of my schooling, and my first four years of work have been preparing me for this very test!

Okay so really that’s all I have planned for 2012, but like I said, it’s a big deal. It’s going to take a lot of preparation and a lot of my time. I really hope to be able to keep up with my blogging. I”ll probably need it more than ever as a respite from all those numbers!

What are your 2012 plans?!

5 responses »

  1. I have several plans for 2012, but the biggest one is to spend more time with my two boys (9 and 12) before they get too big for mom! Thanks for sharing! It made me think about this past year and the upcoming year!

  2. First, you have a lot to show for 2011 — a quite successful blog, and a cat that, well frankly, is not dead now — because of you. That is a lot — believe me.

    Second, having ‘a lot to show’ for something is over-rated. Well… you may get to the point, as I have, that even those things don’t matter… It’s hard to explain, but it’s not an apathetic or nihilist attitude — it’s more like a better perspective on life… A hard to explain, even less materialistic than I was before kind of thing…

    Good luck with the PE!

    Last, I’m sorry I’ve fallen so far behind on your blog and all the others I’m following, because you needed this poem about a week ago it sounds like:

    “Happiness” by Jane Kenyon

    There’s just no accounting for happiness,
    or the way it turns up like a prodigal
    who comes back to the dust at your feet
    having squandered a fortune far away.

    And how can you not forgive?
    You make a feast in honor of what
    was lost, and take from its place the finest
    garment, which you saved for an occasion
    you could not imagine, and you weep night and day
    to know that you were not abandoned,
    that happiness saved its most extreme form
    for you alone.

    No, happiness is the uncle you never
    knew about, who flies a single-engine plane
    onto the grassy landing strip, hitchhikes
    into town, and inquires at every door
    until he finds you asleep midafternoon.
    as you so often are during the unmerciful
    hours of your despair.

    It comes to the monk in his cell.
    It comes to the woman sweeping the street
    with a birch broom, to the child
    whose mother has passed out from drink.
    It comes to the lover, to the dog chewing
    a sock, to the pusher, to the basket maker,
    and to the clerk stacking cans of carrots
    in the night.

    It even comes to the boulder
    in the perpetual shade of pine barrens,
    to rain falling on the open sea,
    to the wineglass, weary of holding wine.

    So that’s a good poem. It works that way, ya know?

Leave a Reply

