obsessions

Standard

I saw this awesome installation on pinterest the other night, and knew immediately that I had to share it with y’all. Unfortunately, I can hardly find any information on it at all. It took an extensive google search, before I finally ended up at website with more images than the original and a bit more information. This is the image I orginally saw.

You’ll never guess what that is made of! Give up? Pennies!! Or Euro-cent coins. Two hundred and fifty thousand to be exact. From what I can tell from this website, (which is in a language I surely don’t understand) the piece was created in a square in Amsterdam by Stefan Sagmeister.

I love the very technical classifications of the penny colors: “light,” “darkest,” and “less dark.”

I eventually found another website that further describes this massive mural. The piece is part of a series called, “Things I’ve learned in my life so far.” Sagmeister’s statement about the piece is as follows:

I rarely obsess about things in my private life. I fail to care about the right shade of green for the couch, the sexual details of an ex-lover or the correct temperature of the meeting room AC. I don’t think I miss much.
However, I do obsess over our work and think that a number of our better projects came out of such an obsession. Doodling obsessively onto a poster depicting a headless chicken and an obsession with white angry monkeys that ultimately led to the giant inflatable animals all over Scotland are just two such examples.
From Bernd and Hilda Becher’s obsessive need to record every water tower to On Kawara’s date paintings and James Turrell’s Roden Crater, obsessions seem to be an important ingredient in the work of many of our favorite contemporary artists.
Obsessions make my Life worse and my Work better.*
*”Think dangerously, act safely” is a close relative – possibly its uncle – from mentor Tibor Kalman.

I love that. What a creative mind! Would you think to layout 250,000 pennies to create a beautiful work of art that creates both a figurative and literal statement? I sure wouldn’t! it amazes me what people come up with everyday! The creativity of our world will continuously astound me.

3 responses »

  1. Very cool! Don’t let what I’m about to say detract from that. This is way cool. But I’m starting to see a formula: 1) Render something in an unusual way — in pennies, in rubix cubes, in string, in glitter, etc. 2) Make it huge.

    Size impresses, and the obsession (this one hits that nail right on the head) or tolerance for tedium inherent in making art like this, also impresses.

    Don’t get me wrong — even seeing that there may be a formula here, I am still impressed!

Leave a Reply

