iPad sleeve tutorial

Standard

Happy hump day everyone! Today’s post is an homage to my new iPad! I bought it for myself as a Christmas present. When I bought it, I got one of those fancy covers to go with it. I also wanted to get a sleeve, but was worried that one of the premade etsy cases might not fit. So I decided to try making one myself. Easier said than done. Luckily for all of y’all, I’ve thought out all  the logistics and figured out how the heck to make one of these. I’m not going to lie, I spent a lot of my time with head in hands trying to figure out what to do next. After a couple of setbacks, I successfully made an ipad sleeve! It’s not perfect, but I like it. Here is the tutorial for your viewing pleasure.

Materials:

  • fabric for lining
  • fabric for outside
  • batting or some form of padding
  • button
  • elastic (I couldn’t find any so I used a hair rubberband)

Step one: select your fabric

Luckily I had plenty to choose from because of the scrap packs I purchased from etsy.

Step two: iron, measure, and cut. After ironing all of my fabric, I measured. I decided to make it 9″ by 11″ to leave room for my batting and seam allowances. Note: this ended up being too big. I’m not big on precise measurements, so I rounded everything up. You might want to make things more precise. But that’s your call. 9″x11″ is a good place to start, and then you can trim things down as you go to make it fit a little tighter. That’s what I did. Then I cut all my fabric, and my batting to match.

Step three: Sew lining and batting together.

Make sure your right sides are together. Sew the sides only. DO NOT SEW THE BOTTOM EDGE (found this out the hard way). You should end up with an actual sleeve you could put your arm through. Or a tube. Or something.

Step four: Sew on button to the fabric you have chosen to be your outside fabric, and then sew together the outside fabric. It’s almost like you’re making a pouch. Make sure right sides are together, and sew around all three edges, leaving the top open.

Step five: Turn the pouch with the right sides out, and slide it in to the batting and lining tube you created before. The right sides of the lining and the right side of the outside fabric should be touching each other.

Step six: Insert elastic closure. Make sure you actually put the piece of elastic INSIDE of what you are sewing. It should sit nicely between the right side of the lining and the right side of the outside fabric. You should not see it while you are sewing. Please learn from my mistakes.

Step seven: Sew around the top edge.  (the edge I am holding in the previous picture) If your sewing machine has one of those extra pieces that gives you more surface area, you’ll need to remove it so that you can slide your little pouch up on the machine and sew it in a complete circle.

Step eight: When you finish, pull out outside fabric, and make sure everything is right sides out, and sew along the bottom edge of the lining. Trim the excess fabric or batting or whatever is in excess.

Step nine: Push the lining back down inside the pouch of the outside fabrics and smooth everything out and enjoy your creation!

TA DAAAAAAA! Due to my elastic fiasco, mine is a little short… I couldn’t get the elastic out because I triple sewed it and backstitched and everything. I knew I had some room to spare, so I just cut the whole top off and started over. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough room to spare. It’s not exactly perfectly smooth, either. Ironing again would probably help, but I was eager to get this post together to share with all of you!

I hope this is helpful, and informative! Good luck all you crafters!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

