dimdi

Standard

Today I’m featuring another watercolor artist with the etsy shop called dimdi. I’m always drawn to watercolor paintings because of their ethereal feel. I love the blurry lines and the way watercolor paintings lend themselves perfectly to capturing furry animals. When I first wrote this post, I was just going to feature some of the artwork, but then I decided to find out some more about the artist. Her name is Irene, and she lives in Italy. I’ve gotten together ten questions to ask, that I plan on asking all of the future artists that I interview. So here we go!

1. Tell us a little about your background. [where you’re from, how you got started, how you got to where you are today, etc.]

I’m Irene and I’m a full-time artist. I’m 28 years old. I live together my wonderful husband in a lovely land of the Centre-Italy named Molise where I was born. Since I was a child my biggest passion is the art. After I graduated from high school with a specialization in art, I enrolled in “Industrial design” course at I’Istituto Europeo di design (IED) in Rome. I lived three wonderful years in Rome, but I needed to stay near to the nature, the animals….and so I decided to go back in my land where I found the inspiration for my art. I want to tell stories through my animals simply with a look, a moment…today, I have realized my dream and I’m very very happy!

2. When you’re not creating, how do you fill your days?

When I’m not in my study, I adore cooking dessert for my breakfast, I love jogging and I stay with my pets…My mother has a country house where they are cats, a wonderful puppy (he has one month), bunnies, a real farm!! Here I spend my Sundays!
My other passion are the travels so when I have a bit of free-time I organize my travel of the year…
Another of my passions is the old cinema and the music. I have a full life of passions and sometimes I  do not have time for all this! I’m too curious! I hate to stand still!

3. Chocolate or vanilla?

certainly vanilla

4. What keeps you inspired to continue to create?

The nature in all its aspects.

5. Where is your favorite place to travel? [vacation, or on a daily basis]

I  have a place near my house where I go every day for jogging or a walk where I see my mountains, my fields and I think it is my favorite place and where there is just the nature and I…it seems infinity! When there is the fog, it seems heavenly!

6. Do you have a designated studio? If so, what is your favorite part of it?

I have a room-studio where I create….this is the favorite place…this is my little world, where I stay with myself and my little animals!

7. What is your number one cure for artist’s block?

When I have artist’s block my cure is to discover new animals to paint. I love to read their behaviors and characteristics….as soon as I find an animal that in that moment intrigues me…I take my paper and I paint it.

8. If you had to describe your creative style in three words — which three would you choose?

Funny
Colorful
Emotional
9. Where do you see yourself in seven years?
I’d like to be here…I love my life and I think to be lucky, I have found my way! I hope I never wake up from this dream!
10. Do you have any exciting upcoming projects that you can or want to share with us?
Yes, I have a dream….I’d like to create a big shelter for all unfortunate dogs, an association for helping them and saving them from abandonment or from being stray. Since I was a child I have dreamt this…and I hope to realize it very soon.

So now that we know some things about her, let’s see some of  her artwork.

smiley squirrel

You can even get a custom portrait of your pet! There are 119 items in her shop of all different animals from frogs to dogs. I love the style of her paintings and the feelings they evoke. I especially love the smiley squirrel and the expression of the last dog. She even features the extinct blue footed booby! Love it! Be sure to check out her shop to check out a lot of different artwork!

One response »

Leave a Reply

