collage wall

Standard

So ever since we painted our dining room, I’ve been dying to create a collage wall. We have one big blank wall, and it keeps screaming at me to decorate it. I’ve seen some pretty awesome examples of these on pinterest or on other blogs that I read, but I don’t want mine to look forced. I want it to look like I’ve just accumulated all of this stuff over the years and thought (ever so creatively) to hang it all on the wall. I want there to be some pictures, a saucer or a pretty decorative plate, a giant “C,” a tin tray (that my husband had to have from the thrift store and can’t seem to find a home for it anywhere else), some embroidery art, a couple of art prints, maybe an old map. A whole collection of stuff! Here’s a couple examples of what I’m thinking.

I love the description of what she calls the curated corner over on her blog, too.

I say all of that, and I show you those pictures, to get to the point of this blog entry! I was going to show you guys a couple of pieces I’m thinking about adding to my non-existent wall.

wish this weren't a hook!

too cute!

Okay.. so.. looking at all of this stuff I posted, I think it’s a good thing I haven’t started on my collage wall yet. I think I’m going to need a little more direction. I have stuff from antique key hooks and dictionary pages to orange dinosaurs and Williams brice stadium. I did say I wanted a whole range of things, though. The funny thing is I have an oft forgotten barely started collage wall in my spare room, too. It is more uniform and cohesive with all white frames and just prints. Maybe I could add some of these ideas to that collage and spread the love. Just some ideas I thought I’d share with all of you. Do any of you have a “curated corner” or a collection of items on your walls? What all does it entail? I would love to hear about it, or see it. I’m in need of good ideas, and I’m going to need all the help I can get!

5 responses »

  1. My Mother had a collage wall a million years ago, and I have one in my hallway. I did have one at a previous house that had more “odds & ends” than frames, but I am happy with this one.
    hallwall
    I have just purchased a bunch of wooden stars to paint and toss up on the wall in an odd shaped space over my entertainment center. Not quite as collage-ish, but hopefully it will work. Can’t wait to see how yours turns out!
    PS-I would buy 947 antique keys if I could think of a good enough reason!

  2. Pingback: Collage: Let’s Say Yes to Life, Let’s Say Yes to Love « Oxana Poberejnaia

  3. Pingback: what i’ve been doing « allrainydaysarentgray

Leave a Reply

