dizzy for durzy

Standard

When I was a little girl, I used to collect rocks. I loved the different colors and textures that were inherent properties to each of the rocks. I had pyrite, hematite, amethysts, and even some lapis. I even “mined” for some rocks at one of those road sides places up in the mountains somewhere. We brought home all of our rocks and tumbled them ourselves. I can’t say that the result was that great, but it was still a fun experience. I even had a couple of small geodes. Those were my favorite. I loved seeing the natural, rough, raw rock on the outside but then seeing the beautiful, smooth quartz formations on the inside. So you can see why I’m going crazy for this druzy fad. In case you are unfamiliar, druzy is a thin layer of quartz crystals covering the surfave of a host stone. A perfect example of this is the geodes I mentioned earlier. However, the examples seen in jewelry are on a much smaller and more delicate scale. Check out some examples of these rocks being put to a beautiful wearable use.

The thing I like about all of the examples I just showed you is the juxtaposition of the roughly textured rock with the smooth metal of the jewelry setting. There are some rings or earrings or pieces of jewelry that use a rough and unfinished look to the metal setting as well. There are even some pieces of jewelry that have an extensive growth of crystals on the surface instead of the small grained particles shown in the previous examples. Check these variations out.

See the difference between the two styles? Like I said, I’m a fan of the first one. I think that in addition to the jewelry looking more finished and polished, I just can’t get over the meshing of the two styles. Rough, raw, stone, set into a perfectly smooth metal circular setting. I just think it’s too cool. While I am partial to the first style, I also think there is something to be said about for letting the rock itself determine the shape of the final piece of jewelry. I guess I am a fan of both styles. What about you? Which is your favorite?

One response »

Leave a Reply

