burlap birthday

Standard
burlap birthday

My mom’s birthday was a couple days ago, and now that I’ve finally given her her present, I can share with all of you what I made for her! My mom has pretty much everything you could ever imagine, so figuring out something to get her is always a challenge. This year I decided I would get crafty!

I had so much fun making those wreaths with felt around Christmas time, I decided to do the same thing, but using burlap. It was super easy. I bought a wreath form, and a couple yards of burlap, cut it into some squares, and started pinning. I folded each square of burlap twice, and pinned it to the form. Just randomly all over the place making sure my wreath was very full. Because the burlap has such a thick weave, I made sure the pin went through the burlap a couple of times to keep the pieces folded. Here is the end result:

I thought that to make things more fun, and to make the present more exciting, I’d make holiday appropriate items that could be clipped on the wreath as each holiday approached. Because I had the idea before Easter, the first holiday I tackled was Easter.

Easter

I found some cute little pinwheels that can be tucked in to the wreath for summer!

summer

aAnd then the ideas just kept on coming!

July 4th

Football season

Halloween

Thanksgiving

Christmas

and spring

I also got a wooden letter “K” for her to hang up there when she doesn’t want to be festive for a holiday. [Shown in the first image.] I know I left out some holidays, but I can always add to it later, and it might be fun for her to add to it herself. So there you have it! As you can see, it wasn’t an extremely complicated project. It was a lot of fun to put together. I had fun cutting out all the felt shapes and gluing them together. I really liked making the felt flowers, too! If you have any questions about anything, please feel free to ask!

Please be sure to “like” my facebook page!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

