sixth and main

Standard

I’ve got some more etsy love for you guys today. Today I’ve decided to feature a photographer’s etsy shop called sixthandmain. The shop is owned by Myan Soffia, and I am in love with her photographs. According to her shop profile, she is based out of Los Angeles, and I think that is definitely evident in the photographs in her shop. They are all so bright, light, and colorful. Looking through the pages of her shop, I felt like I was stuck in a beautiful ethereal dreamworld. The subjects of her photos vary from bustling downtown scenes to calm pastoral images. She even has some food photography as well as some still life images of everyday items. I decided to contact Myan about answering some my interview questions, and she did me the great honor of doing just that! Check out her answers below, followed by some examples of her amazing work. Enjoy!

1. Tell us a little about your background. [where you’re from, how you got started, how you got to where you are today, etc.]

I am originally from the east coast and found my way out here to Los Angeles about 6.5 years ago. I have always been an artist. My background is in television graphics & promotions but LA inspired me to really pick up my camera and start documenting.

2. When you’re not creating, how do you fill your days?

I pretty much work nonstop either shooting or editing. But when I like to slow down, I love to paint, read, watch a great movie or just spend time with my man & our three crazy cats. 🙂

3. Chocolate or vanilla?

Tough choice! Vanilla cupcakes but chocolate everything else. lol

4. What keeps you inspired to continue to create?
My favorite artists are my biggest inspiration. And i love to wander around museums.
5. Where is your favorite place to travel? [vacation, or on a daily basis]
I love it when we travel up the California coast. Whether to Los Olivos or all the way up to San Francisco. It is simply breathtaking.
6. Do you have a designated studio? If so, what is your favorite part of it?
My studio is in our home, I have a designated office space and an area where I paint or package orders. It is not my dream setup so I don’t have a favorite part…yet. 🙂
7. What is your number one cure for artist’s block?
Listening to inspiring music.
8. If you had to describe your creative style in three words — which three would you choose?
Hmm, really tough! I would like to think: romantic, unique, and dreamy.
9. Where do you see yourself in seven years?
Hopefully still capturing life around me, traveling with my man and a little one.
10. Do you have any exciting upcoming projects that you can or want to share with us?
I just sold some prints to HBO and FOX for two of their TV shows. And I have some illustrations I am working on and hopefully I will be opening those shops very soon! 🙂

Have you ever seen such a colorful cityscape?

I can almost feel the warmth and sunshine in this one.

L.A. looks so calm!

This is my absolute favorite.

You guys have got to head over to etsy and check out her shop. I know I say that all the time, but this time I’m absolutely serious. She offers sets of prints in her shop, and I’m giving careful consideration to purchasing one of those sets. I don’t see how I can continue without one or more of these gorgeous photographs in my life. Imagine the warmth they would bring to any room. I’m completely mesmerized!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

