what does music look like?

Standard

I saw this pinned by someone over on pinterest, and I had to share it with you guys. It was originally posted on But Does it Float, and is focused on the work of Martin Klimas. Klimas is a German photographer, and for this photo series, he spent months in his studio to produce his final images. The question that he answers with his photos is maybe one that some of us have wondered for quite some time: what does music look like? Martin Klimas will show you. And I will tell you more about his technique after the jump!

Kraftwerk – “Transistor”

MIles Davis — “Bitches Brew”

Paul Hindemith – “Ludus Tonalis”

Miles Davis – “Pharaoh’s Dance”

Steve Reich and Musicians – “Drumming”

Steve Reich and Musicians – “Music for 18 Musicians”

How amazing is this?! I love the results of his ingenuity and creativity. I wish I could watch a video of these amazing dancing paints. Anyway, as I said before, what he did was fairly simple. He poured some paint on top of a speaker, and then played a song, and captured the results with his camera!

I love his color choices, too! Those bright vibrant colors make it all the more interesting. I don’t think it will be a surprise to anyone that I don’t really know any of the songs, but I think I might have to go look them up so I can see how the photos relate to the music. It’s so funny to me, because the other day I was thinking about how important music is to so many people. I mean, there are so many TV shows dedicated to it, so many channels. American Idol, The Voice, Dancing with the Stars, etc. Everyone loves getting in their car, cranking the music, and riding with the windows down. You can’t go a day without listening to music. The next day, I was watching the movie called “The Hammer” about Matt Hammill the deaf UFC fighter, and I started to think to myself, “He has never been able to listen to music.” And I got sad. And then I saw these photos. How cool would it be for Klimas to make videos of this, so that the hearing impaired can enjoy the songs, too. I know that there are already tools out there for similar purposes, but for some reason, I think Klimas’s are so beautiful and relatable.

Anyway, I just love this. I love what he has done. I think it’s an incredible idea, and the results are awesome. Imagine the photography skills required to capture just the right image. Enough ranting from me. SCroll back up and check them out again! Enjoy!

10 responses »

Leave a Reply

