seung mo park

Standard

Today I’m going to share with all of you an artist I discovered over on craftgawker. I think you’re really going to like this artist’s unique style and medium. Seung Mo Park uses wire mesh to create amazing portraits. That’s right. Wire mesh. Like what is on your screen door. She starts with a photograph and then compiles layer after layer of wire mesh to begin her project. Once she’s ready to get cracking, she begins by cutting away at the layers to expose the portrait she is trying to create. Check out some examples of her work.

this one shows awesome detail

i think this one is my favorite.

I love these! If you didn’t know any better, you might think they were grainy pencil drawings, or even pictures with low resolution. Not only are the portraits amazing because of what they are made of, they are amazing as portraits themselves. I feel like all of these girls have a secret that they’re keeping from me. It’s amazing that wire mesh, like on my screen door, can bring such emotions.

Leave a Reply

