tailgating part 2

Standard

For part two of this tailgating series, I’m going to focus on personalizing your tailgate area. I’m going to attempt to discuss how to turn your bare essentials (which we talked about here) into something with a little more pizzazz. So in case you missed the first post, I decided that the essentials were as follows:

  • tent
  • table
  • chairs
  • entertainment
  • cooler

The key to not overdoing it in the tailgate décor department is bringing festive items that are also useful. Personally, I don’t see the point of bringing a bunch of decorations to the stadium just to set them all out and put them all back up later. If I’m going to bring something down there, then I’m going to make use of it. With the exception of one item which I will share with you later. So here’s my first suggestion.

A tablecloth. You don’t need a tablecloth, exactly, but they serve a function, and take up little space. And it’s a sure way to set the mood of your tailgate. Most of us are going to go with a team color themed tailgate—thus we will have a team color tablecloth. But what if you just had a black and white damask tablecloth. How is that for a mood setter? Everyone else has blue plastic and you come out there rocking this kick ass tablecloth, sipping mimosas out of plastic champagne flutes instead of solo cups, and no one will even know what to do with themselves. But I digress. Here are a few tablecloths I like:

customizable colors! click on the picture!

made with oil cloth for easy cleanup

Now I know there are some ladies out there that only drink wine. But how do you keep your wine cold without throwing it down in your cooler? This item is perfect for you. and if you got it in a color that matched your team, then you are sporting a festive wine cooler ice bucket thing.

This etsy shop has platters for pretty much every SEC time, and a ton of other cute items. I am in love with the platters, and might be ordering one for myself, soon. I also love the ipad sleeves and coozies. Maybe I’ll just get one of everything.

who doesn’t need a platter? And it’s melamine so that means you don’t have to worry (too much) about breaking it.

This might be stretching the limitations of useful a little bit, but check out this awesome chandelier from Gochic. I mean, sometimes it does get pretty dark out there under the tent—a light could be awfully useful. Especially one that is rocking your team’s colors.

This one may sound completely obvious, but– coozies. Let’s discuss the importance of coozies. They keep your drink cold, but your hand not frozen. They simply state your style and personality. They are a cheap and easy way to add style and flair to not only your tailgate, but to your outfit. If you’re like me, you roam around the tailgating area and chat with friends. All of your tailgate gear can’t go with you, but your coozie can! here are some fun ones:

What about some of these festive drink clips? Keep your drink close at hand when you don’t have a free hand to hold it?

and you can get them with your team logo printed on them!

Lastly, I think one item that completes a tailgate, though may be slightly unnecessary, is some kind of mascot. At the Carolina tailgates, there are people with giant inflatable Cockys and gamecocks everywhere. Under our tent, we have a nice rooster that sits on our table and crows when you clap your hands at it. Just a little item to show tailgaters around you that you’re taking this seriously. But not too seriously. Okay, maybe the chandelier is taking it too seriously. But I couldn’t not show that to you guys. In the next installment, I’m going to share with you some of my favorite tailgating foods. I’ll also mix in some fancier recipes that you adventurers might want to try, and some ideas for a “main course” aside from the typical burgers and hotdogs. So stay posted!

One response »

  1. Pingback: tailgating part 3 « allrainydaysarentgray

Leave a Reply

