DIY pennant banner

Standard

Awhile ago, I made a pennant banner for a baby shower for one of my coworkers. I posted about it, but I didn’t provide a whole bunch of details about how I made it. Another coworker and friend of mine, Dana, is having a Halloween party, and she asked me to make a Halloween themed banner for her. I decided it would be a perfect opportunity to share with you all a few more details about how I created this banner.

Materials:

Roughly 1/4 yard to 1/2 yard of your fabrics
Cotton twilling
scissors
needle and thread
cardboard

Step 1: Select your fabrics. Like I said, Dana wanted a Halloween themed banner, so I went with Halloween fabrics. I used my little rotary cutter thing to speed up the cutting process, but it didn’t really speed much up. Just saying.

Step 2: Decide how big you want each triangle to be, and cut a template out of cardboard. I ended up with a triangle with a base of roughly 4″ and a length of roughly 6″.

Step 3: Cut a whole bunch of rectangles out of your fabrics. You want to be able to see the right side of the fabric on both sides of the triangle in the end, so you want to double your length. My rectangles were roughly 4.5″ by 12.5″ I left myself a little room for play, because I’m known to mess things up.

Step 4: Fold all of your rectangles in half so that you end up with a smaller rectangle that is about 4.5″ by 6.25″.

tep 5: Place your template onto your folded fabric. Make sure the short end of the triangle template lines up with the fold of the rectangle. Trace your template, or just freehand cut to cut out your triangles. When you unfold your fabric, you should have something resembling a diamond. Here is where I would suggest ironing, if you’re in to that sort of thing. Me, not so much. So I forged ahead.

Step 6: Unwrap some of your cotton twilling leaving roughly 6″ at the end (for tying onto something). Place your first triangle over the cotton twilling. Make sure the twilling goes inside of the triangle, and that the fold of your triangle sits firmly on the top edge of your twilling. Instead of sewing the triangles to the twilling, we will sew the twilling inside of the triangles.

Step 7: With your needle and thread, start in the top left corner of your triangle and make a little knot through all the layers. Fabric, twilling, fabric, so that the triangle piece doesn’t have much room to slide around. Stitch around the edge of the triangle so that it is sewn together. When you get to the top right corner, again, sew through all the layers, (fabric, twilling, fabric) and knot it. Now that triangle isn’t going anywhere.

Step 8: Continue sewing triangles onto your twilling until you run out of twilling or triangles, or until you have reached the desired length. Be sure to leave some excess on the other end so that you can tie it up.

Step 9: Enjoy!

You can, of course, also use your sewing machine. But I like to do things by hand sometimes, so I can be in the living room with the TV and my husband and my dog. It’s totally up to you! It’s not difficult, and it’s a big statement piece! Let me know if you guys have any questions! I’d be happy to answer them if I left out any steps or if there was any confusion.

Good luck! Happy pennant making!

Leave a Reply

